Bermuda District representative Ann Coker was re-elected chair of the Chesterfield County School Board last night during the board’s annual organizational meeting. Midlothian District representative Kathryn Haines was elected vice chair. The other School Board members are Dorothy Heffron (Clover Hill District), Debbie Bailey (Dale District) and Ryan Harter (Matoaca District).

After her selection, Coker thanked School Board members “for having the confidence in me to be chair again this year. I appreciate everyone of you very much and am looking forward to working with each one of you for another year! … There is a lot of good being done right now in our school system, by our central office staff, by our teachers, by our bus drivers, by our food and nutrition workers, by our facilities team and this board will continue to support those efforts.”

During last night’s meeting, the School Board approved its 2023 meeting schedule:

  • Budget work sessions at 4 p.m. on Jan. 24, Jan. 31, Feb. 7 and Feb. 13 in the Public Meeting Room (10001 Iron Bridge Road).
  • 4 p.m. work session and 6:30 p.m. business meeting on Feb. 7, March 14, April 11, May 9, June 6, Sept. 12, Oct. 10, Nov. 14 and Dec. 12 in the Public Meeting Room.
  • Special meeting to adopt the FY 2024 budget at 6:30 p.m. Feb. 23 in the Public Meeting Room.
  • Summer work session at noon Aug. 14, followed by a 6:30 p.m. business meeting.

The Chesterfield County School Board encourages public participation at meetings. Details of the procedures by which the public may speak or submit written comments are available at, which also provides other School Board information.